2020 Brownlow Medalist

BRISBANE star Lachie Neale has celebrated an outstanding individual season, winning his first ever Brownlow Medal in utterly dominant fashion on Sunday night.

The brilliant and prolific Lions midfielder blitzed the field to be crowned the 2020 season’s fairest and best player, cruising to the game’s highest individual accolade ahead of Port Adelaide’s Travis Boak, Melbourne’s Christian Petracca and St Kilda’s Jack Steele.

In a record-breaking count, Neale polled 31 votes from 17 games to finish comfortably clear of Boak (21 votes) in second and Petracca and Steele (20 votes each) in joint-third.

The 10-vote margin was the equal-biggest final lead in Brownlow Medal history since the 3-2-1 format was introduced, while his 1.82 votes-per-game was the most in history.

He also won the AFL Players’ Association MVP, the AFL Coaches’ Association Player of the Year this season, a second All-Australian blazer and the Lions Best and Fairest.

Neale becomes just the fourth Brisbane player to win the Brownlow Medal. He follows in the footsteps of club greats like Michael Voss (1996), Jason Akermanis (2001) and Simon Black (2002) in achieving the remarkable feat.

Australia Post is celebrating the 2020 AFL Brownlow Medallist, Lachie Neale, with the release of a souvenir stamp sheet.

The Brownlow Medal has been awarded since 1924 to the Fairest and Best player of the VFL/AFL Premiership Season. The 2020 Brownlow Medallist souvenir stamp sheet features the Brisbane Lions’ Lachie Neale displaying his Brownlow Medal. The souvenir stamp sheet includes 8 x $1.10 stamps and an image of the Brownlow medal in the stamp tabs.

It was announced on the 29th October for release and delivery from 5 November 2020.