Anniversary SA Football

FOOTBALL in South Australia has a long and colourful history. The first official record of Australian Rules being played in SA dates back to 1843.

Originally established as the South Australian Football Association on April 30, 1877, the South Australian National Football League is not only the oldest surviving football league of any code in the nation but is also one of the oldest competitions in the world.

The SANFL’s best and fairest award, the Magarey Medal, is the oldest individual football award in Australian football, having first been awarded in 1898.

The earliest recorded football club in the state was Adelaide Football Club, formed in 1860. In the early years of South Australian football, the competition’s rules and regulations were constantly under negotiation. There became a growing need for a structure in South Australian football.

Twelve SA football clubs met in 1877 to develop a set of regulations and establish a governing body. From that meeting, held at the Prince Alfred Hotel in the city, the South Australian Football Association was established.

The clubs involved – Adelaide (est. 1860), Port Adelaide (est. 1870), Willunga, South Park, North Adelaide, Kapunda, Bankers, Gawler, Prince Alfred College, South Adelaide (est. 1876), Victorian and Woodville – all contested the 1877 season.

South Adelaide was the inaugural premier. Norwood joined the Association in 1878 and went on to win the next six flags.

From Adelaide Now 23 March 2010

The 125th anniversary was marked by the release of a numbered cover (total 100) and an insert with all the Premiership winners.

The 140th Anniversary Cover was produced by “briggia” Brisbane. Seen on StampBoards 19 September 2017