2016 Brownlow Medalist

GEELONG superstar Patrick Dangerfield capped off a glittering season with the most prestigious individual award of all, breaking records to win the 2016 Brownlow Medal.   

Dangerfield polled a record 35 votes to win from Sydney Swans midfielder Luke Parker (26) and Richmond star Dustin Martin (25), breaking away in a thrilling finish at Crown Palladium.

The 26-year-old had a four-vote lead going into round 22 and he sealed the win with two votes against the Brisbane Lions, taking his total to an unassailable 32

To underline the greatness of his season, he polled three votes in round 23 to finish on a record total, surpassing Collingwood winner Dane Swan’s 34 votes from 2011.

His margin of nine votes was also a record dating back to 1977 when both field umpires awarded 3-2-1 votes. Gary Ablett’s eight-vote win in 2009 was the previous highest.

Dangerfield also polled in 15 games to set a new mark and matched the record nine best on grounds set by 1994 winner Greg Williams and matched by Fremantle superstar Nat Fyfe last year.