2014 Premiers: The Hawks

The 2014 AFL Grand Final was an AFL game contested between Sydney Swans and the Hawthorn Football Club at the MCG on 27 September 2014. It was the 118th annual Grand Final of the AFL (formerly the Victorian Football League). The match, attended by 99,460 spectators, was won by Hawthorn by a margin of 63 points, marking the club’s second consecutive premiership and twelfth VFL/AFL premiership victory overall. Hawthorn’s Luke Hodge was awarded the Norm Smith Medal as the best player on the ground.

Hawthorn dominated the match from start to finish, applying pressure on the Swans that at times was brutal. Jarryd Roughead was the top scorer for Hawthorn kicking 5.1 and Lance Franklin was the top goal kicker for Sydney, kicking 4.2.

The AFL and Australia Post issued 5000 PNCs to celebrate Hawthorns second Premiership in a row. The stamp was the same as the SSS below with the Hawks emblem in the selvedge of the 70c Purple Map of Australia and the postmark was one of the seasonal issues, the same since 2012.

Cover Produced by Frank Pauer on Generic Australia Post Cover.

A SSS sheet with 8 Purple Map of Australia stamps with the Hawks emblem in the middle selvedge.