SANFL Premiers

The South Australian National Football League, or SANFL is an Australian rules football league based in the Australian state of South Australia. It is also the governing body for the sport of Australian rules football in South Australia.

Originally formed as the South Australian Football Association on 30 April 1877, the SANFL is the oldest surviving football league of any code in Australia and one of the oldest football competitions in the world, forming just a few years after the United Hospitals Challenge Cup (1874), the oldest rugby football competition, and over a decade before The Football League, although later than the FA Cup (soccer).

The Port Years

The period 1950 to 1973 is defined by the coaching of Fos Williams who won 9 premierships for Port Adelaide. The 1962, 1963 and 1965 Premiership reunions were commemorated by covers from First Class Collectables.

The second Golden Period was defined by the coaching of John Cahill from 1974 to 1998. In this period he won 10 premierships. The 1977, 1979,1980, 1981, 1988, 1989 and 1990 Premiership reunions were commemorated by covers from First Class Collectables.

On the 22nd June 2002 the Port Adelaide 1992 Premiership Team celebrated its win over Glenelg in 1992. A cover by First Class Collectibles was released to commemorate the event. Individual players were also remembered on covers. They were Mark Williams, Greg Phillips,  Russell Boyd and George Fiocchi

A cover was produced in 1980 for the Grand Final between Port and Norwood by the Lylette Marching Girls.

Norwood broke Ports run with a premiership in 1997 but Port came back with wins in 1998 and 1999.

Central Districts Premiers

Central Districts are the second youngest club in the SANFL. They won their first flag in 2000 and repeated it in 2001. Missing out in 2002 they returned to premiership team in 2003 with a steady win over West Adelaide, 2004 and 2005.

First Class Collectables issued covers to commemorate the wins.


Sturt defeated Central in 2002 but Central made the first decade of the new millennium their own.