The Broadcasters

The Broadcasters

In the history of the VFL, Channel Seven had been the broadcaster of Australian Football. This was only interrupted once in 1987 when Broadcom and the ABC jointly televised the games. In 2002 a revolution occurred with Channel Nine, Foxtel and Ten jointly winning the rights from 2002 to 2006.

Channel 9 (SA) 45th Anniversary

On 8th September 2004 Channel Nine South Australia released a souvenir sheet commemorating their 45th Anniversary of their going to air. The Sheet margin contained the headline “NWS-9 Wins Sole TV Footy Rights.” and a picture of former Crow’s Captain, Mark Bickley. The stamp selvedge showed Kym Dillon, their sports reporter and former SANFL Footballer in the Early Days and the present postmarked with the Nine Commemorative Postmark. Covers were also produced by First Class Collectables.

Australia Post also approved a slogan cancellation and ink jet cancellation.

Channel 7 (SA) 40th Anniversary

In August 2005 Channel 7 Adelaide produced a souvenir sheet to celebrate its 40th Anniversary. The surrounds in the upper right hand corner showed a photograph of Graeme Cornes (ex Crows Coach), Mark Riccuito (ex Crows Captain and board member) and Chris McDermott (Ex Crows Captain).

The P stamps showed Bruce Abernathy (Port Adelaide Magpies, North Melbourne, Collingwood, Adelaide), Bruce McAvaney (AFL Commentator), Graeme Goodings (Sports Presenter, Crows Club Ambassador) and Chris Dittmar (AFL Commentator).