The MCG is more than the heart of Melbourne. It is where history is continuously created, where heroes are worshipped, the place where many of Australia’s greatest sporting moments have occurred.
September 23, 2003 marked the 150th anniversary of when it all started, when Governor La Trobe handed over the certificate of permissive occupancy to the Melbourne Cricket Club for the land on which the MCG now stands.
The MCG’s 150th birthday gave the people of Melbourne and its visitors an opportunity to join in the celebration of its amazing history as well as peek into its exciting future. It was the People’s Anniversary for the People’s Ground.
The MCG celebrated its 150th birthday with a ceremonial handover of the ground’s original occupancy certificate and the unveiling of a stunning tapestry work.
Governor John Landy presented MCC president David Jones with the original permissive occupancy certificate that was issued on September 23, 1853 when Lieutenant-Governor LaTrobe granted the present site of the MCG to the club.
Following the certificate handover, Governor Landy, Mr Jones and Premier Steve Bracks unveiled a stunning seven metre wide by two metre high tapestry depicting the people and events that have featured prominently over the MCG’s 150-year history.
Later that evening, key figures from Victoria’s sporting and political landscape gathered at the MCG as The People’s Ground celebrated its 150th birthday with a gala dinner in the Long Room. First Class Collectables released a set of covers to celebrate the MCG’s Sporting Traditions. (Note that Postmark date is 23 August rather than September.) (The Cover Collector No.6).
M&C covers also produced a private medallion cover shown in the banner.
The Melbourne Cricket Club, the trustee of the land the MCG is built on, was formed in 1838. It celebrated its 150th Anniversary in 1988, Australia’s Bicentenary year. The celebrations spread over the year.
As part of the celebrations, philatelic covers had a stamp applied to them after the visitation of each area of the MCG. The covers included the 1981 Sporting Personalities Cover and the 1988 Australian Bicentennial Exhibition PSE. The Strand also released a cover.
“I visited the M.C.G.” (with MCC 150 Logo on left)
- OLYMPIC DINNING ROOMS
- M.C.C. CRICKET ROOMS
- AUSTRALIAN GALLERY OF SPORT
- M.C.C. MUSEUM
- M.C.C. LIBRARY
- MEDIA AND SPONSOR BOXES
- M.C.C. LONG ROOM
- M.C.C. PAVILION
- M.F.C. FOOTBALL ROOMS