1995 Port Adelaide 125th Anniversary

It all began in April 1870 on North Parade as the leaders of the growing Port Adelaide township considered the need for a social club for the young men of the district.

From such modest and noble ambition has come a powerhouse of South Australian and national football.

Within months they started a football club that was at the table for the start of the first organised competition in South Australian football in 1877. And by 1997, Port Adelaide was that league’s most successful team with 34 SANFL premierships and four Champions of Australia titles.

So well-known was the Port Adelaide name beyond South Australia that the Port Adelaide Football Club became the first (and only) non-Victorian club to be part of the national Australian Football League.

And within seven years of stepping onto the national stage, Port Adelaide had its first AFL premiership to be true to the lyrics of the club song declaring “We’ve got the power to win”.

Winning defines Port Adelaide. From the “Invincibles” who beat all, locally and from Victoria, in 1914. To the “Golden Era” in the 1950s when the Australian record for success was rewritten with six consecutive flags (1954-1959). And the unrivalled triumphs with strings of premierships (1979-1981; 1988-1990 and 1994-1996) to make the case for AFL entry impossible to ignore.

This is Port Adelaide, the football club you either love or hate … but always respect and fear, as noted by opposition teams that passed the Cheltenham cemetery on the way to the fortress at Alberton Oval feeling beaten before they arrived.

From blue and white at the beginning in 1870 to the game’s most-respected guernsey in black and white from 1902. And in those jumpers; traditions, heroes and legends have been made from some of the game’s greatest players who stand tall in Hall of Fame at club, state and national level. (Port Adelaide Website)

As part of Port Adelaide’s 125th anniversary First Class Collectables released a special commemorative cover.